Located on the South of Buryatia in the hills, rugged mountain ranges, and borders Mongolia. The ranges cross deep valleys of the rivers Selenga and Chikoy with their tributaries.
Kyakhtinsky district was formed in 1923, the Population of over 40 thousand people. The administrative center – town of Kyakhta. The city's population – 19.5 per thousand people Distance from Ulan-Ude – 235 km. the population of district – Russians and Buryats, as well as "Karima" – the offspring of mixed Russian-Buryat marriages. A minor part of other nationalities.
Towns located along the Russian-Mongolian border – the place of residence of the Cossacks. From North to South the region is crossed by Federal highway Ulan-Ude–Ulan-Bator border crossing in gorodeckaja and railway Ulan-Ude–Naushki–Ulan-Bator. The district shares borders with the Selenga, Djidinskiy districts of Buryatia. On the Eastern border of the Transbaikal region and in the South of the state border of the Russian Federation with Mongolia. Located on the South of Buryatia in the hills, rugged mountain ranges, and borders Mongolia. The ranges cross deep valleys of the rivers Selenga and Chikoy with their tributaries.
Kyakhtinsky district famous monuments of history, culture and archeology, which are of interest not only for specialists. Among them, one of the most impressive objects connected with the era of the first in Central Asia state of the Huns, is the group of burial in Elm valley. She is 23 km from Kyakhta on the road Kyakhta–Ulan-Ude. During archaeological excavations of graves – there are about 320 belonging to different strata of Konskowola – received household items, weaponry, elements of harness; genuine works of art openwork buckle plate and belt sets. A variety of ceramic vessels of the Huns admire the perfection of form and proportions.
Unique household items and art are kept in collections and exhibited in the expositions of Kyakhtinsky Museum of local lore. Archaeological work began in 1896 and continues to the present time. In 1996, on the basis of Kyakhtinsky Museum of local lore was an international Congress of scientists and archaeologists. Collection "Rosseikina the old capital" is a participant and laureate of the festival "inter-Museum-2006" in Moscow. Of course, the greatest interest for tourists is the town of Kyakhta, known to the world as the "Golden gate of Russia", through which passed the Great tea road.
Thanks to the development of trade led to the emergence of a wealthy class of merchants of Kyakhta, the city had built most of the stone buildings, churches, architecture, and decoration that was monumental and wealth. So, the means of Kyakhtinsky merchant in 1812-1817 was built in the style of Russian classicism of the stone Trinity Cathedral of the Trinity, with the chapels of the Nativity of the virgin Mary and the apostles. The total height of the temple (dowerhouse cross) was 30 m. the Bell tower with a height of 37.7 m consisted of 8 bells. The bell tower was installed a tower clock with dials "on two sides, East and West." The temple and the bell tower was crowned with gilded crosses with chains and crowns. The Cathedral contained mirotocivi copy of the miraculous icon of God Mother of Sporuchnitsa (parochiality) are sinners, possessed of healing powers. The building of the Cathedral handed over to the Russian Orthodox Church.
In Kyakhtinsky merchant settlement in 1830, was laid a stone Church in the name of the resurrection of Christ with two warm aisles in the name of the Kazan mother of God, St. Nicholas the Wonderworker. The construction was attracted by the Italian master. The Church was built on means of rich donations. According to contemporaries, "on internal splendor and richness of this temple can hardly find his equal in the whole of Siberia". It was called "Frozen music in stone".The Cathedral was fitted with a unique crystal iconostasis with silver Royal doors. Miraculously surviving fragments of the iconostasis can be seen in the Museum.
In 2011 he completed the reconstruction of the Church was now consecrated and masses are held. Next with a city cemetery (now does not exist) in 1727 was given a wooden Church of the assumption. And in 1888 by the merchant J. A. Nemchinov next to her was erected the stone Church of the assumption – a monument of Russian cult architecture of the second half of the XIX century, are organically combined elements of Russian-Byzantine style of Russian classicism. The height of the Church from floor to the beginning of the drum of 10.24 m. the Church is valid.
House with mezzanine well-known merchant and public figure, friend of the Decembrists A. M. Lushnikov built in the mid-nineteenth century It was one of the first stone buildings in Kyakhta. The house took the Decembrists S. Trubetskoy and S. G. Volkonsky families, N.. and M. A. Bestuzhevykh, K. P. Thorson, I. I. Gorbachevsky, I. I. Puschin, M. K. UNESCO. Guests Lushnikov was known travelers and explorers of Central Asia: N. M.Przhevalsky, G. N. and A. V. Potanin, D. A. Klements, P. K. Kozlov, V. A. Obruchev, the American Dzh. Kennan and many others. The home is expected to be restored, but so far no funds for that.The Policeman cave Rock is located in the valley of the river Chikoy.
Preserved cave paintings of the bronze age with images of eagles. 60 km East of Kyakhta, right-berige R. Chikoy, was built first in Transbaikalia Buddhist temple Of the datsan. The main building of the datsan Tsogchen-Dugan – storey, stone-built, located next to the suburgan "of Ljubav" ("the Descent of Buddha Shakyamuni with his entourage from heaven Tushita"). Of temple, formerly Tsongolsky, was founded in 1730, is one of the oldest temples of this region.
The temple complex consisted of buildings, much superior to the old in wealth and capital. Around the main temple there were six aimag and several small Duganov. The number of Ministers reached 1000 lamas. The temple has preserved a unique collection of writings of the Buddhist philosophers, is a school students-Chubarikov. In the 30-ies of the Lama were arrested, property confiscated datsan. In the 50 years the temple has been razed to the ground. The revival of Buddhism, to increasea message of faith, spirituality Buryat people began in the second half of the 1980-ies. In S. Murachi in 1990 on the initiative of elders was created by a Buddhist religious community and the construction of a wooden Dugan on the place of the biggest Zongolica datsan.
The opening of the datsan Baldan Braybon took place on 7 October 1994, This event occurred during the celebration of the 250th anniversary of the recognition of Buddhism in Russia and stay in Buryatia, the fourteenth Dalai Lama. Behind the stupas is a small grove where the trees are tied himarin, hadak. In Dogana datsan is kept green horse Maitreya. At the Central gate of the temple set the Wheel of Dharma (Norm Hurde), by two kneeling deer. Golden deer, according to legend, ran from the grove, when we heard the sounds of Buddha's first sermon and, transfixed, listened to him, looking at the top of the Golden wheel, brought the Buddha Brahma with a request for the beginning of the Sermon.
New three-story main temple of the datsan on the architecture and size not inferior to the former. In the restoration of the Church took part the entire country. Now the datsan are 10 Lam graduated from higher educational institutions of Buryatia and Mongolia. Distance from Kyakhta to the temple, 41 km from Aranin-Area-Bala is a place of pilgrimage, which has no analogues in the Buddhist world. Two kilometers from the temple Of the miraculous image on the stone is manifested mantra of Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara (Area-Bala) "Om Mani, Badme hum". Only in the foothills of the Himalayas in the distant Nepal, there are similar inscriptions. Avalokiteshvara (Area-BA'al) – "Thousand-armed Lord of Compassion" is depicted as a multifaceted, many-handed. He is able to help all the suffering sentient beings.
In 2003, he held the Grand opening of Duggan and prayer", Ravni" when a large crowd of believers.