Размер шрифтов: A A A
Цветовая схема: A A A A
Дни культуры и искусства Бурятии

Ivolginsk hill

Car
16 km.
20 min.
1 d.
Warm season
Cold season

The large marble letters that read “OM MANI PADME HUM” and the soyombo sign that decorate the hill can be seen from afar. Its name Bayan Tugad (which translates from Buryat to “rich peacock”) has two origins: the hill resembles the bird, and these birds populated this place a long time ago. It’s located near Ivolga village. After climbing to the top you will not only see a beautiful view, but will also discover a secret cave that had 14 entrances, where people used to live. Cave paintings of Bronze age, so called petroglyphs, can still be seen on the walls that are covered with soot. Local residents set up a Buddhist mortar on top of the hill. In the middle of the 20th century the hill was used in such movies as “The Herder’s Song” (1957) and “Golden House” (1959).